Read-a-thons

Dewey’s Read-A-Thon Prep!

It’s almost the weekend and I’m superrrrrrrr excited for Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-thon! This will only be my second official readathon (besides all of the unofficial readathons I do every weekend anyway 😉) so I may have gotten a little overexcited and ordered the readathon shirt. And some stickers to track my reading in my reading notebook. Yep, I’m a complete nerd. As if that was still in question.

I will personally be starting my reading a bit late as I have to attend my nephew’s last soccer game of the season tomorrow morning/early afternoon. BUT, I’m definitely going to listen to an audiobook on the 1-hr drive to and from the soccer game. So I won’t lose too many hours.

I’m pretty sure my start time for the readathon is 5am… 😒 The only time I’m up at 5am is if I am still up from the night before so I will definitely NOT be starting that early. However, I hope to get in 10-12 hours of solid reading time during the read-a-thon. I will also be posting updates here, on Twitter and on Litsy so those will be my serve as my primary breaks from reading. My prior experience from the 24-in-48 marathon earlier this year has taught me the importance of taking small, frequent breaks to prevent early burnout. I have a few good stacks ready for the marathon, including some ARCs I’ve been needing to read (besides 21 Questions that I may have finished last night). These e-books are all released or due to be released in the next few weeks so my goal is to finish at least a few of them this weekend so I can get a review up and let people know how great they are (they’re all queer novels so I’m sure they will be fantastic):

image

I’ve also picked out some physical books to pick from when I need a change- a few from my BOTM book, OwlCrate and a couple other queer novels I picked up when I was in Oregon. These are pictured below with my readathon paraphenalia:

image

AND knowing how weird and picky I get about books sometimes, I’ve ALSO picked out some books on my kindle and a few audiobooks. I think I’m going to start the morning with a spoopy read in honor of All Hallow’s Eve – The Good House by Tananarive Due. I’ve heard fantastic things about this book and clearly need to add more #creeplife to my reading.

The thing I love the most about a readathon is all of the different people reading and talking about books. I mean, that’s kind of everyday life on Litsy anyway but I think readathons give us a good reason to set aside a significant chunk of time to read. Even though I read A LOT, there are still times when I feel guilty about spending so much time reading and I force myself to take a break to clean, do laundry, visit my nieces and nephews or just do something different. A readathon is almost like an assignment or challenge to me and clearly I miss school a lot because I love it. 🤓

Even though I know none of you probably care, I’m a planner so here is my rough schedule for my readathon day:

5:00am-9:00am – sleeeeeeeppppppppp

9:00am-10:00am – get ready -listen to audiobook

10:00am-11:00am – drive to grocery store – listen to audiobook

11:00am-12:30pm-food shopping – audiobook

12:30pm-2:00pm- soccer game – no reading 😦

2:00pm-3:00pm – drive home – listen to audiobook

3:30pm-2:00/3:00am – READDDDDDDDDD (and take small breaks to eat, walk dogs and check in on social media)

3:00am – bow out gracefully (fall asleep with my glasses on, a book open on the bed and the lights still on because I was too tired to get up and turn everything off)

Alrighty that’s it for now. Can’t wait to interact with all of you during the read-a-thon!!!!!

 

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s Read-A-Thon Prep!

Leave a Reply

